A SIMPLE WAY to get more clicks on YOUR videos!

Hey YouNubers, how ya doin?

I hope you don’t hate me for my somewhat “clickbaity” headline, but these next couple weeks I’ll be talking about the little things you can do to get people to click on your video, and that includes punching up your titles.

I hate clickbait. And I know that most people do. But still, teasing the title of your video is an effective way to get people to click. One of the “kings” of this is Philip DeFranco. Even though Phil has more than 4 million subscribers, he still titles his videos in a “I can’t believe he/she/they did that” type way to tease the content within. And he does this because he knows that potential new subscribers will click the video to find out what he’s talking about.

Just make sure that whatever you title the video, you do actually cover that information. Don’t fool people into clicking your video, but tease your content so they want to check it out.

Another thing that I was surprised to learn is that putting words in ALL CAPS is actually a successful click-strategy. Typically, ALL CAPS is annoying and is supposed to convey shouting, I guess? But on YouTube, having a few words in CAPS catches the eye and people (at the least) are likely to read the title of your video. My advice is to use it sparingly.

What I’d suggest too, is checking out your favourite YouTubers and see how they do their titles. 

Next week, we’ll talk about another helpful way to get more clicks on your videos. Let me know in the comments if you have any helpful tips about video titles.

And as always, I’ll talk to you again next week.

Leave a comment